Applicants sought for legislative seats

The 2018 general election created two vacancies in the 49-member Nebraska Legislature.

Syracuse Sen. Dan Watermeier was elected to the Public Service Commission and will be vacating the seat serving District 1. Sen. John Murante of Gretna was elected state treasurer, creating a vacancy in District 49.

Gov. Pete Ricketts announced Nov. 8 that his office will accept applications for both seats until Friday, Dec. 7, 2018. The application form can be found at Eligible applicants must have lived in the district for one full year, be registered to vote and be at least 21 years old.

Appointees will serve until January 2021.

Bookmark and Share