Special Committees

Senators named to special committees

The Executive Board of the Legislature announced appointments to two special committees May 26.

Lawmakers established the Mental Health Crisis Hotline Task Force May 19 with passage of LB247. The task force will create an implementation plan for the 988 crisis hotline established by the federal government in 2020.

Appointed to the committee are:
Lincoln Sen. Eliot Bostar;
Plymouth Sen. Tom Brandt;
Omaha Sen. Jen Day;
Henderson Sen. Curt Friesen; and
Lincoln Sen. Patty Pansing Brooks.

The Statewide Tourism and Recreational Water Access and Resource Sustainability Special Committee was created by the May 20 passage of LB406. The committee will study potential flood control projects and related economic development opportunities in three areas of Nebraska.

Appointed to the committee are:
Plymouth Sen. Tom Brandt;
Elmwood Sen. Robert Clements;
Norfolk Sen. Michael Flood;
Creighton Sen. Tim Gragert;
Venango Sen. Dan Hughes;
Omaha Sen. John McCollister;
Omaha Sen. Mike McDonnell; and
Lincoln Sen. Anna Wishart.

The committee also includes Speaker Mike Hilgers of Lincoln as chairperson and Brainard Sen. Bruce Bostelman, chairperson of the Natural Resources Committee.

Both special committees will terminate Dec. 31, 2022.

Bookmark and Share