Bottle clubs are required to be licensed under a bill given final approval April 18.
LB1120, introduced by Sen. Tyson Larson of O’Neill, requires licensure of private membership establishments—commonly known as bottle clubs—where members who have purchased their own alcohol congregate to consume it.
A bottle club licensee cannot hold any other license under the Nebraska Liquor Control Act and is required to close between 5 a.m. and 6 a.m. A club’s private membership list will not be made public except as required by a court order, warrant or subpoena.
The bill also:
• allows Class C licensees with a bottling endorsement to increase the size of their growlers from 32 to 64 ounces;
• clarifies that the fees collected for beer shipper licenses are to be deposited in the Nebraska Beer Industry Promotional Fund;
• allows a party to apply for a rehearing when a liquor license application is denied by the Liquor Control Commission; and
• creates the Music Licensing Agency Act.
The Music Licensing Agency Act requires a music licensing agency to register with the state Department of Revenue starting Jan. 1, 2019, and file an annual electronic copy of each performing rights agreement that provides for payment of royalties made available from the music licensing agency to any Nebraska proprietor.
A $10,000 fine will be imposed for each 45-day period following each Feb. 15 if a music licensing agency fails to renew a registration or engages in business without registration.
LB1120 passed 48-0.