Special Committees

Appointments made to special oversight committee

The Executive Board of the Legislature announced appointments to a newly created special oversight committee March 6.

Lawmakers established the Legislative Oversight Review Special Committee of the Legislature with the passage of LR298. The committee will study the structure and organization of current legislative oversight functions that exist within legislative divisions and offices. It also may study oversight conducted by statutorily created boards and commissions in Nebraska and the legislative oversight functions of other state legislatures.

Committee members include all members of the Executive Board, the chairpersons of the Health and Human Services and Judiciary committees and three at-large members of the Legislature.

At-large members appointed by the Executive Board are Omaha Sens. Michaela Cavanaugh and Mike McDonnell and Sen. Rick Holdcroft of Bellevue.

With those appointments, the full committee membership is:
Grand Island Sen. Raymond Aguilar;
La Vista Sen. John Arch;
Lincoln Sen. Beau Ballard;
Lincoln Sen. Eliot Bostar;
Omaha Sen. Machaela Cavanaugh;
Elmwood Sen. Robert Clements;
Blair Sen. Ben Hansen;
Bellevue Sen. Rick Holdcroft;
North Platte Sen. Mike Jacobson;
Kearney Sen. John Lowe;
Omaha Sen. Mike McDonnell;
Ralston Sen. Merv Riepe;
Dunbar Sen. Julie Slama;
Omaha Sen. Tony Vargas; and
Omaha Sen. Justin Wayne.

The committee will issue a report and any recommendations to the Legislature by Dec. 15 and will terminate Dec. 31.

Bookmark and Share