Smith resigns from Legislature

Sen. Jim Smith of Papillion announced his resignation from the Nebraska Legislature July 9, effective immediately.

Sen. Jim Smith
Sen. Jim Smith

Smith, who was elected in 2010 and re-elected in 2014, had approximately six months remaining in his final term in office. He served as the Revenue Committee chairperson for four years.

In his announcement, Smith said his resignation coincides with his appointment as executive director of Blueprint Nebraska, a coalition of business and agriculture leaders that launched in May with the goal of creating a statewide economic development plan.

Bookmark and Share