County population threshold increases approved

Certain county population thresholds will change under a bill given final approval April 1.

Nebraska law recognizes four county classifications based on population. Counties currently are classified as follows:
• Class I has a population of at least 300,000;
• Class II has a population of at least 200,000 and less than 300,000;
• Class III has a population of at least 100,000 and less than 200,000; and
• Class IV has a population less than 100,000.

LB742, introduced by Lincoln Sen. Matt Hansen, raises the Class I threshold to a population of 400,000 and adjusts the Class II threshold accordingly.

The bill passed on a 46-0 vote.

Bookmark and Share