Sesquicentennial commission created

Senators gave final approval March 31 to a bill that establishes a planning commission for the 150th anniversary of Nebraska statehood.

Under LB744, introduced by Lincoln Sen. Bill Avery, the governor will appoint 17 members to the Nebraska Sesquicentennial Commission. The commission will work with state agencies, boards and commissions to develop programs to celebrate the state’s anniversary in 2017.

No more than eight members may be affiliated with the same political party and all regions and major interests in the state will be represented. The commission will be housed within the Nebraska State Historical Society for administrative and budgetary purposes and will terminate June 30, 2018.

LB744 passed on a vote of 44-3 and takes effect immediately.

Bookmark and Share