Congressional redistricting plan approved

Lawmakers passed a bill Sept. 30 that sets new boundaries for Nebraska’s three congressional districts.

Under LB1, introduced by the Redistricting Committee, Douglas County remains wholly within the 2nd Congressional District, along with roughly the western two-thirds of Sarpy County.

In addition, the bill shifts Saunders County from the 1st District to the 2nd and a portion of north-central Sarpy County, including La Vista and much of Papillion, from the 2nd District to the 1st District.

Thurston, Burt, Washington, Otoe and part of Polk counties shift from the 1st District to the 3rd.

LB1 passed on a vote of 35-11 and takes effect immediately.

Bookmark and Share