Home inspectors in Nebraska are required to register with the state under a bill passed April 29.
LB423, introduced by Omaha Sen. Steve Lathrop, requires inspectors to register with the Nebraska secretary of state, pay a registration fee and provide a certificate of general liability insurance of not less than $250,000. The bill establishes a maximum registration fee of $300 and allows an inspector to list any national home inspection certification he or she holds.
Violation of the bill’s provisions will be a Class IV misdemeanor.
LB423 passed on a 41-2 vote and takes effect Jan. 1, 2023.